Primary Election

Primary Election Information



Election Information


Primary Election - June 24, 2014



Polls Are Open From 7:00 AM To 7:00 PM

Primary Election
June 24, 2014
Kay County


CLICK HERE FOR Unofficial election Results


NEWKIRK — The Kay County Election Board continues to have a busy year.

Currently, the staff is assisting voters who want to change their political party affiliation. Voters have until March 31 to do this and still be eligible to vote in the upcoming primary elections.

Changes of political affiliation are prohibited by law during the period beginning April 1 and continuing through Aug. 31 in even-numbered years.

Only voters registered in a political party can vote to select that party’s nominees. Voters not registered in a party can’t vote for party candidates in primary elections.

Oklahoma has two recognized political parties in 2014 — Democrat and Republican.

All registered voters, regardless of political affiliation, can vote for any candidate at the November General Election and for state or local questions at any election.

Applications to register to vote or to change political affiliation are available at the Kay County Election Board office, 201 S. Main Street in Newkirk, post offices, public libraries, state offices providing public assistance and at most political party and candidate campaign offices.

On April 1, voters in Newkirk will select Peggy Butler or Curtis Layton for school board seat No. 4 and Kildare voters will vote on a $180,000 transportation bond.

On April 9 candidate filing gets under way for many county offices.

This year county seats held by county assessor Carol Purdy, county treasurer Christy Kennedy, and county commissioners Dee Schieber and Tyson Rowe are up for election.

Candidates must be registered as a Democrat, Republican, or Independent for at least six months in order to run for an office.

Those who want run for district attorney, held by Brian Hermanson; district judge, held by D.W. Boyd; associate district judge, Phil Ross; State Senate District 10, Eddie Fields; House Rep. District 37, Steve Vaughn, and House Rep. District No. 38, Dale DeWitt, will need to file at the State Election Board.

DeWitt will not be able to run for re-election as he has termed out.

The filing period for all of these offices will span from April 9-11.

Deadline for withdrawing from the Primary Election or for filing a contest of candidacy will be 5 p.m. April 15.

The primary election will be held on June 24.

Also, on June 24, the Blackwell Recall Election is scheduled.

Voters will vote to recall or not recall city councilors Brad Bechtel, Piccola Hudsonpillar, and Nita Carroll.

The runoff Primary Election will be held Aug. 26 and the General Election will be held on Nov. 4.

For more information call the Kay County Election Board at 580-362-2130.

Upcoming Statewide Election Information
Last day to register to vote: May 30
Last time to request absentee ballot: June 18, 5 PM
Early voting:
Thursday, June 19, 8 AM - 6 PM
Friday, June 20, 8 AM - 6 PM
Saturday, June 21, 9 AM - 2 PM
Last day to register to vote: August 1
Last time to request absentee ballot: August 20, 5 PM
Early voting:
Thursday, August 21, 8 AM - 6 PM
Friday, August 22, 8 AM - 6 PM
Saturday, August 23, 9 AM - 2 PM
Last day to register to vote: October 10
Last time to request absentee ballot: October 29, 5 PM
Early voting:
Friday, October 30, 8 AM - 6 PM
Friday, October 31, 8 AM - 6 PM
Saturday, November 1, 9 AM - 2 PM